Mattech

Trojan.Agent/Gen-Sefnit Is this a possible False Positive and how can you define a FP?

Hi all,

For some reason recently after conducting a update on my SAS free and then doing a scan, despite my antivirus running realtime, scanning daily, like today SAS happened to come across the Trojan aforementioned in my topic name.

I did a little bit of research on its characteristics i.e. browser manipulation (IE and FF), internet slowdown and the other little treats that come with Trojans none of which i was experiencing.

It also came attached in a Program i have no knowledge of on my PC. However SAS happily quarantined it, i scanned again, came back clean, then ran my AV which also came back clean.

I don't think the fact i was using Avant browser made any difference, i just generally thing this is a FP as it featured in one of the latest updates. Although my knowledge of how to pick out FP's isn't very good and i was hoping that the SAS community could help enlighten me also.

Thanks

:-D

Hi Mattech ,

The sefnit trojan doesn't always work straight away depending on the version it can lay dormant until activated by a program or by malicious code injection, the reason your AV didn't pick it up is usually because they look for different things.

AVs tend to protect against Worms and wormlike trojans, scanners search out for other malicious trojans it depends on your AV some look for more than others.

Additional : If you are still unsure type MRT into your search bar on the start menu, open and run full scan will take a while but is designed to pick out root kits and sefnit is on it's list.

A false positive occurs when something is detected by a malware definition that shouldn't be. If you think something is being detected improperly, use the built-in false positive reporter at the end of a scan so we can check out the detected item and determine if it is malware or not.