Seth

Disabling startup items when cleaning a system

Wasn't sure what forum to post this in:

As a computer tech, I'm having to clean systems of various types of malware almost on a daily basis. My two scanners of choice are SAS and BitDefender. BTW Nick, I recommend SAS to all my customers and am seriously considering the possibility of becoming a reseller.

Anyway, one step I perform before disinfection is disabling all the startup items in msconfig. Many of these items are malware. Through the various steps I perform, I've always succeeded in the disinfection. However, occasionaly I have to do run a manaul file and reg search to remove a particularly stubborn entry.

My question is this: On a particular malware removal forum that I occasionaly check out, they request the user enable all malware items in msconfig before running scans. Yet, I've never had to do that.

So what do you recommend? Disable the malware startup entries or leave them running?

Thanks

Wasn't sure what forum to post this in:

As a computer tech, I'm having to clean systems of various types of malware almost on a daily basis. My two scanners of choice are SAS and BitDefender. BTW Nick, I recommend SAS to all my customers and am seriously considering the possibility of becoming a reseller.

Anyway, one step I perform before disinfection is disabling all the startup items in msconfig. Many of these items are malware. Through the various steps I perform, I've always succeeded in the disinfection. However, occasionaly I have to do run a manaul file and reg search to remove a particularly stubborn entry.

My question is this: On a particular malware removal forum that I occasionaly check out, they request the user enable all malware items in msconfig before running scans. Yet, I've never had to do that.

So what do you recommend? Disable the malware startup entries or leave them running?

Thanks