Sign in to follow this  
sugref

Scan Taking 16hrs (Vista 32)

Hi, I am new to SAS just downloaded and am running for the first time on a Vista laptop. The file items scanned is 1,300,000 and counting. It has been running for 16hrs plus. Is this normal?

It is scanning tons of files in the DriverStore\FileRepository folder.

thx

That is not normal. Let me know how long the scan took total, or if it even finished and we can work with you to fix the problem

Thanks

Customer Support Team

the scan is at 23:08 hrs and the file items scanned is 1.9 million. Still going.....

Should I abort and let it continue. It has not found any threats at this point. I have not been using the laptop, just letting it complete its scan.

BTW, I did run AVG Free 8.5, CCleaner multiple times and Malwarebytes prior to running SAS Free. Malwarebytes found a Rogue.Personal AntiVirus threat which I remov

I almost had a similar experience but I canceled the scan after I found it was repeating a scan of about 10 files, over and over. The file count was very high and unusual and the scan was taking a longer time than normal, so I watched it closely and found the repetition taking place. I mentioned it to SAS but got no response. I uninstalled SAS immediately.

You should rule out that this problem is not being caused by something other than SAS...such as disk problem or a cluttered disk. Here are some things to investigate. BE SURE that you are signed on with a User Account that has full Administrative Privileges to do the following.

1. If you upgraded from Vista SP1 to Vista SP2, clean up after the upgrade. This will remove thousands of unneeded files from your system.

http://www.mydigitallife.info/2008/12/26/service-pack-cleanup-tool-in-vista-sp2-to-clean-up-old-rtm-sp1-backup-files/

2. Be sure that you are running the latest version of CCleaner which is V2.23.999. Older versions may be missing some temp locations during cleaning.