Sign in to follow this  
bigchief

Always starts at first run

Superantispyware always starts like it's the first run. It's asks for the language, do I want to check for updates, protect the home page, etc... It downloads the updates and says it installs them. If I let it setup, it will show the correct core, trace and database update versions. I can run a scan just fine. I have it set to not autostart with Windows. The next time I try to start it, it goes through the same setup routine again. If I tell it not to check for updates, it shows that I am back to the original installed version, that I have never updated it, and that I have never run a scan.

I'm not having any other problems with this machine. The only other anti-malware software that runs all the time is AVG AV Free. This is only happening on one of my computers. I am a computer tech. About 70% of what I do is remove malware from other peoples computers. I know my machine is clean. I have uninstalled, manually deleted program folders and program entries in the registry, and reinstalled several times with the same results. I just don't understand why it seems to be stuck on the first run every time.

Any help would be appreciated.

In case anybody needs to know:

Windows XP Pro SP3

Asus M2n32 SLI Deluxe Wi-fi edition

Athlon 64X2 6400

4 GB Crucial Ballistix ram

2 x 250 GB WD Hard drives

2 x Geforce 9800GTX

I have fixed that problem, though I'm not sure I fixed the root cause of the problem. For some reason it didn't give me proper registry permissions under HKCU. I gave myself full control, and then it started working properly. As to why it didn't give me permissions for the key, I don't know.