onetime

buffer overrun detected! winlogon.exe

hi guys, just wanna share with u my findings on this issue.

get error "buffer overrun detected! ...winlogon.exe" when starting up my pc. therefore im unable to login into windows xp.

disconnected my primary hdd and connect it as slave in another comp. ive always had a habit of running hijackthis and saving the log files.

upon checking, i find a key " O20 winlogon notify = c:\program files\superantispyware\SASWINLO.dll ".

usually this dll file has no problems as ive been using superantispyware for almost 3 yrs now, but recently upon updating the software and rebooting after that, gives the ""buffer overrun detected! ...winlogon.exe" error.

since im unable to run hijackthis to delete this key (because the hdd is now set to slave in another computer.), i renamed the SASWINLO.dll to SASWINLO.dll.old and voila! able to startup perfectly!

my guess is that upon updating of superantispyware, somehow the SASWINLO.dll file became unstable or something.

so to superantispyware engineering team, please look into this matter.

thanks a bunch for the great work so far!

peace out!

I had the same problem. Was only because Ifound this post that I was able to overcome it.

Cheers onetime..! You the man with the answer.

Only I didn't have access to another computer for the slave drive trick. I used a Ubuntu Live CD to achieve the same result.

Why had this happened to my machine.?

I only Updated and Scanned. Next reboot (immediately after) My machine wouldn't start. Was stuck in a reboot loop.

All good now. is this a flaw with the Update.

I have been Using SAS for couple years, never had a problem before. Very good program

that's saved me a few times before. Little cautious now...

I only joined this forum just to say thank you to onetime You saved me a complete reinstall. I had this 1 time befor and did not find this answer when i searched and had to reinstall windows.

So HOOAH YOU ARE THE MAN AND THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!