One_II_Coding

A website Idea - Is it worth trying to set this up?

23 posts in this topic

Hey all.

Just a little background info:

I have been running a small website for a couple of months, and saw very little activity. I offered free computer advice and fixes etc. I also wrote a few tutorials on how to fix virus, software, and hardware related issues  etc.  Also a few other random articles related to computers. No one really seemed interested in the site unfortunately, so I removed it. 

I really would like to set up a free service for people, but it never seems to take off.

I have started another site, with a similar theme but am lost as what to post on it, or whether it's even worth the effort. No one found the old site, no one seemed interested in the fix's posted there.

This is probably because of all the over well known computer support sites that already exist drawing traffic etc.

So onto the point of this post. I was wondering if I could ask what this community might like to see from a site such as this?

Would you like A remote support service? A forum? No forum just one page with a list of tutorials?  Both?

And lastly and most importantly, is it even worth setting a website like this up?

Any thoughts or ideas posted are welcome, and much appreciated!

Cheers :D, Owl.

Starting a forum can take what seems forever to get going, if you have some sort of gimmick to attract people (your own software and Tut's for such) it can help especially if that software is forwarded to others to test and advertise via reviews.

The mainstay of having a decent site however is of course traffic. The more members you can get on board the better your chances, this in itself is difficult unless the content is above others.

If you want a hobby then by all means give it a go and try to advertise (without spamming) as much as you can all over, internet, word of mouth, nationwide. Although there is no guarantee of gaining members, either you get lucky or you don't.