Jump to content


Photo

False positive? Sea Monkey


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Catkin

Catkin

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 17 July 2012 - 04:53 PM

I have tried to install Mozilla Sea Monkey five times and each time SAS has stopped the installation stating that the download is a Trojan. On scanning all SAS shows up are tracking cookies. I have researched the internet and found that there is a Trojan masquerading as Sea Monkey, but the sites I have been downloading from I thought were safe - Mozilla and Cnet.

Anybody else had this problem? I can't find anything to say that this has been logged as a false positive. Is it?

Any comments welcome.

#2 GuiltySpark

GuiltySpark

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 481 posts
  • LocationThe Space Between Two Points

Posted 17 July 2012 - 05:12 PM

Hi Catkin ,

I've just downloaded seamonkey and found No Problems.

Where did you download it from ? Cnet has had downloader Malware problems in the past and as a result I refuse to download anything from them.

Did you try a download from here ?

Or here ?

Using No Way - As Way, Having No Limitation - As Limitation.


http://techstep123.co.uk/

 

http://tgigeeks.net/


#3 Catkin

Catkin

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 17 July 2012 - 07:36 PM

Yes, I had tried those sites time and time again, but strangely when I followed your link to the Sea Monkey site this time it worked!!!

Many thanks for your advice, I don't know how it worked, but it did.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users